Niddah Diaries: Mikvah

I don’t hate the mikvah.

From all the hate that mikvaot get on the jewish liberal internets, and from all the love that they get from chareidi kiruv rebbetzins, I naturally assumed I’d be on the side with the haters. I roll my eyes when those women in the preachy youtube videos talk about how mikvah is such a spiritual time, a time to connect with God, a time when the gates of heaven are open just for women.

But. I don’t hate mikvah.

In fact, I kind of like it.

The mikvah I go to must be one of the nicest in the country. It has a whole hall of preparation rooms, and each time you go, they give you new or disposable clean items to prep with, the bathtubs are large and luxurious, the floors and walls really are all made of marble, and even though they see plenty of women on a given night, the prep room is constantly cleaned and you could never tell someone was there before you.

A typical mikvah

Before I got married, I think the last time I took a bath was when I was in elementary school. Now, I get to relax in a bath tub once a month. It’s time to just sit back and soak and think about…nothing.

I know people complain about having to make time for mikvah, and I know that while it can be hard for me to schedule in mikvah, it must be even harder for parents with kids to schedule it in. Still, at this point in my life, it’s not really a hassle. I’ve never had to go on a Friday night, I imagine that might be a weird experience, although it would definitely give me interesting material to blog about.

I’ll be honest, the Mikvah is not a spa. You don’t get facials or massages or even manicures (I’ve heard that there are some mikvaot that offer nail services, but none that I’ve ever been to). You’re not even supposed to use conditioner when you wash your hair. Plus, the mikvah has chlorine in it, so unless you take another shower after immersing (bringing the total bathing count to 3 times in less than an hour), you’re hair is sticky when you leave.

BUT. 30 minutes in the bathtub once a month is nice. I think I’ll take it, please.

Leave a Reply

